The 2010 AKC SPO National
Championship enjoyed beautiful
weather and a record number of
entries. FTS Ann Hoagland reports a
total of 326 hounds entered. It was the
first year for the Nationals to be hosted
at the new UBGF running grounds in
Morgantown, Kentucky. With 218 acres
and 3 enclosures, what a perfect place
for a National Championship!

Beginning on Friday morning April 16,
the 13-inch Female Class had 82
entries, and the 15-inch Female class
had 72. Saturday's classes were also
large with 90 little males and 82 15-inch
males! A light rain the night before
made the grounds just right for
running, and there was no lack of game.
After some tough competition and the judges' careful consideration, the following hounds placed First through NBQ:
1st - Mill Creek Kyler, John Phillips,Gleason,Tn
2nd - FC G's Line Taco Belle, Jim & Karen Girafalco, Downingtown,PA
3rd - Lowe Valley Tracking Trecka,Tim Shultz, Seveierville,TN
4th - FC Williams Run-em Hot Silky Silk, Jesse W Williams, McCall, SC
NBQ - Rose Run Lucky Lady, Jay Lane, Marion, NC
13" Females - 82 Entries
Jerry Gillian – UBGF
Dr. Arin Woos – NEGF
15" Females - 72 Entries
Rob Kane III – NEGF
Lynn Huston – UBGF
1st - FC Lewis Tuff-E-Nuff Ivy, Jeffery T Lewis, Brookhaven, MS
2nd - NSPO FC Ted's Tina Leigh,Teddy w Adkins, Hamilton, OH
3rd - FC Syoney Creeks Gracie,Travis Purvis, Ocilla, GA
4th - Buck's Branch Cathy Lee, Les Blondino, Madison Heights, VA
NBQ - FC Flint Hill Jannie II,Tommy Lawrence, Cedartown, GA
13" Males - 90 Entries
Scottie Pannel – DSGF
Steve Estevez – MABF
1st - Rapid Run Lil Cowboy Casanova, Bob Peters, Bellville,OH
2nd - FC Ready-to-Run Smokey, Gregory Nichols,Tallulah, MS
3rd - FF Templet's Rio, Harvey Templet, Gonzales,LA
4th - FC Morewater Otis Odie,Travis Still, Blackville, SC
NBQ - FC Ben's Mississippi T-Bone, Brad Ward, Pontotoc, MS
15" Males - 82 Entries
Jason Potts – UBGF
Wayne Martin – DSGF
1st - FC Narrons Cadalac Jack, Jesse M Williams, McColl, SC
2nd - FC tcs Copper, Tommy Pollard, New Iberia, LA
3rd - FC Chicken On A Chain, Robert Gibson, Sikeston, MO
4th - FC No Limit Blaze, Red Forsyth, Rockmart, Ga
NBQ - NSP,FC Windsong Raider,Tim Barber, Picayune, MS
Congratulations to these fine hounds and their owners!
More pics from the
2010 AKC SPO
National Championship
trial, held at the UBGF
running grounds in
Morgantown, KY,
hosted by Butler County
Beagle Club:

On horseback - Wayne
Martin with Jason Potts
accompanying on foot,
following the 15" males
on Saturday.
This year's SPO Hall of
Fame sponsored by Hound
& Hunting Magazine
welcomed 4 more very
worthy members.

Inducted as Hall of Fame
Beaglers were Gary Hanks
from Texas, and Jessie
Yates from Alabama.

The Hall of Fame dogs were
FC Canoe Creek Dominoe
and NSPC FC Postoak Little
Nip Otis.  
Far left: Gary Hanks
receives his plaque
from HOF Ronnie

Left: HOF Rita Butler
presents Jessie Yates
with his plaque.

Right: HOF Dean
Moorhouse presents
Jason Taylor (and
son) the plaque for
NSPC FC Postoak
Little Nip Otis.
Left: AKC Rep Mel Stewart is proud as punch
to present HOF Chester Berry with the plaque
for FC Canoe Creek Dominoe.
The Purina Team: Adam Williams, Mike Lucetta, Ann Viklund, Barb
Fawver, Gail Inman, Eddie Wiley and Rod Carter.
AKC Representatives: Mel Stewart, Bill Van DeBogart (recently
retired), Jim Odle, and Robert Oliver.
Gary Hanks and Tony Choate visit before the banquet.
Gladys anbd Jess Yates sure have the happy faces!
Sally (oakhill) McGehee and Don Coplen exchange a handshake.
Eddie Thompson (Tri-Tronics), Bev Cross (,
and Ralph Harrington (Better Beagling Magazine).
HOFer Lonnie Richard sitting with all of his friends. (Jes' kiddin' ya,
Lonnie.) But he didn't wait on his friends to get thru the line to eat!
Dean Moorhouse selling trailer tickets. I was watching because one
time Jess opened his wallet in January and a June bug flew out!
Art Slike of Hounds & Hunting gives Purina Rep Mike
Lucetta a quick lesson on the use of his camera.
The very proud faces of some beloved HOF beaglers.
Hall of Fame Members who were present at the 2010 banquet.

Jimmy Snell, Gene Curtis, Rita Butler, Gary Hanks, Jesse Yates.
Back Row: Art Slike, Lonnie Richard, Scotty Pannell, Dean Moorhouse, Cliff Rankin,
Robert Oliver, Ronnie Kilgore, John Stuckwisch, Chester Berry, Mel Stewart, Jerry
DeFoor, (Joe Dan Carter behind him) Teddy Adkins, Jimmy Hagan.
Anne and Eddie Wiley and
grandson Brent.
Anthony Wiley poses a very good-running and
well-made female.
I got up for a hot second and FC Russell Creek Grim
Stone took my seat. Ah...who can resist that face? Not me.
John Taylor and Sally McGehee comparing notes on
the male classes.
David Riley of Mule Hunting Clothes strong-arming Deb
Scheetz into buying. David's mother, Mary Ann, looks on.
Rod Carter of Purina presents Jim Girafalco of Downington, PA the plaque and painting for Top Ten
13" Female and and Overall Winner, FC G's Line Taco Belle
Josh Herring, Valley View, PA accepts his
award for Purina Top Ten 15" Female
Winner, FC Lone Willow Tiarae Hanna.
Albert West of Berwick, PA accepts his
award for Purina Top Ten 13" Male Winner,
FC Kachinka Hollow Sonorous Ebon.
John Elder of Tarentum, PA accepts his
award for Purina Top Ten 15" Male Winner,
FC Elder's Rebel Run Major.
- by Beverley Cross
Special thanks go to the following contributors for
additional photos:
Marj Roach, Ralph Harrington, Sally McGehee,
Chris Knotts.